Skip to content

Teen Wolf’s Actor Charlie Carver Comes Out As Gay on Instagram

23/01/2016

This morning we are so happy for Charlie Carver after he took to Instagram to share a brave and inspirational ‘coming out’ essay.

The Teen Wolf star revealed that he is gay in the lengthy post, which was spread over five parts alongside a photo with the inspirational quote: “Be Who You Needed When You Were Younger”.

In the emotive essay, Charlie admits that he felt different from his peers when growing up, sharing: “As a young boy, I knew I wanted to be an actor. I knew I wanted to be a lot of things…

“It was around that age that I also knew, however abstractly, that I was different from some of the other boys in my grade.Over time, this abstract ‘knowing’ grew and articulated itself through a painful gestation marked by feelings of despair and alienation, ending in a climax of saying three words out loud:

“’I am gay.’ I said them to myself at first, to see how they felt. They rang true, and I hated myself for them. I was twelve.

“It would take me a few years before I could repeat them to anyone else, in the meantime turning the phrase over and over in my mouth until I felt comfortable and sure enough to let the words pour out again.”

Poignantly, the 27-year-old revealed that he was comfortable to come out to his friends and family, but it wasn’t quite so straight-forward when it came to his career.

He added: “I did not want to be defined by my sexuality. Sure, I am a proud gay man, but I don’t identify as a Gay man, or a GAY man, or just gay.

“I identify as a lot of things, these various identifications and identities taking up equal space and making up an ever-fluid sense of Self…. As an actor, I believed that my responsibility to the craft and the business was to remain benevolently neutral – I was a canvas, a chameleon, the next character.

“For the most part I had a duty to stay a Possibility in the eye of casting, directors, and the public. If I Came Out, I feared I would be limiting myself to a type, to a perception with limits that I was not professionally comfortable with.”

Charlie concluded with: “So now, let the record show this – I self-identify as gay… I owe it to myself, more than anything, to be who I needed when I was younger.

“And let the record show my twin brother is just as cool for being straight.”

The star was hugely praised by his fans for being true to himself, with one writing: “Very thoughtful and caring words, thank you again for this. You are a great role model.”

Others added: “So much support for such a courageous heart. Love all your work and that of your brother.

“I’m crying I’m so proud, these words are so beautiful.

“I’m so proud of you, we  have to believe that one day our word will not judge others (at all) or for their sexuality.”

 

***English text and pictures taken from Tumblr.com***

Voor wie zijn instagram wil volgen => Charlie Carver

Een andere acteur die reeds uit de kast kwam begin dit jaar => Colton Haynes

4 reacties
  1. “Maar jongen..dat wisten we toch al.” Toch dapper! x

    Liked by 1 persoon

  2. Leuk nieuws! Door hem was het ook leuk om (mee) te kijken naar Desperate Housewives…

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

Blogger uit Amsterdam-ZuidOost

schrijft met plezier

BE INEFFABLE

So Close & Yet So Far...

Christophe Wallecan

De blog van een marketing student

Life according to Joyce

Everyday life documented :)

Vie de Julie

Vie de Julie

Binnenstebuitenboel

Leef achterstevoren!

Liquid skies

Silent people have the loudest minds

misssexandthecity

Life in the city and the sex in my life,.....

Renate Bulte

Blogger over alledaagse dingen.... maar dan anders!

Screendependent

Alles over films, series en meer

COS

cosblog.org

The S Files

Be nice, go vegan

Kimdonz

Lifestyle blog

Thomas Pannenkoek

Een Simpele Ziel ondergaat zijn leven

ratjetoe4u

So Close & Yet So Far...

De Hipste adresjes van Gent

We moved to http://hipsteadresjes.gent !

van dichtbij

over het zout op m'n huid, spruitjes met spiegels en de rammelende rest

Morgaine's Passions

Live life to the fullest

MetroPaul

Nederlandstalig blog, sinds 2008

ZoSammieEnzo

Een spontane vrolijke lifestyle blog met humor.

Deborah Hamar

Just me . . .

Naomi in Wonderland

Traveling through life

Adam op Verkenning

Een getrouwde man op verkenning.

MichielZiet

Dagelijkse dingen die soms bijzonderder lijken dan je denkt.

kribbels uit mijn leven

een kijk in mijn gedachten en de gebeurtenissen uit mijn dagelijks leven, heel gewone dingen, misschien ook wel heel bijzondere......

Walt's Hoekje

Gewoon omdat het kan

DOLDRIEST

woordenspel

Margo Hermans

Blog what you live; don't live to blog.

Annelyse

14 maand met de fiets door Europa

Tales from the Crib

Putting the sfeer in blogosfeer since 2004

tiny blogt

Tiny kan van alles iets en van niets alles.

Yellow Me.

Live a Healthy Lifestyle

La Vie de Falderie

Antwerpen tot Brugge - en soms verder

Bubbliciously me

Living the life you love....

Wilco's Charity Challenge

12 maanden ... 52 opdrachten ... 1 goed doel: Right To Play

Beaunino

GEWOON DOOR-ROEIEN

Fashionlifestyleblog

So Close & Yet So Far...

Darling Doormat

It’s nothing anyone would ever take seriously, but it amuses me.

peter

my path

Lukas Lauridsen

So Close & Yet So Far...

Forty something and much more !

mijn dagboek en uitlaatklep ... if you can't stand the heat, get out of my kitchen !

elegant slumming

So Close & Yet So Far...

Life is a garden of Quotes

Over het dagelijkse leven, over reizen en lezen, over koken, over het lief , gewoon over het leven

